The P3Software Automatic Backup system is a data preservation service provided by P3Software to certain customers. The service gathers customer data stored on the P3Software server and sends a copy of that data to a customer defined FTP location on a daily basis. The customer provides P3Software with access credentials to an FTP server that the customer maintains. Each day (24 hours) the P3Software Automatic Backup system creates a ZIP archive of the customer's data and delivers the archive to the customer's FTP server and sends an email with the delivery status.
The Automatic Backup service also sends a copy of the most recent version of the P3Software application. The Application is updated periodically as new versions are released. The application is delivered to the customer's FTP server to provide access to the ZIP archives' data should they need to be accessed.
The customer must setup an FTP server and provide P3Software with the appropriate credentials for sending files to the server. These credentials are:
SFTP/SCP is also available if desired.
Each daily backup will be a single zip file that will have a name of "NPBackup" concatenated with the date and time (down to the second) and will have a ".zip" extension. e.g. NPBackup20110329101505.zip. The zip file will be in a standard format so applications such as PKZIP will be able to extract a backup file's content.
These instructions assume you will be using a PC running Microsoft Windows XP, Vista or Windows 7. Depending on your version of Windows, you must also have software installed on your PC to extract the files in the ZIP backups. Windows 7 already has the capability of extracting files from ZIP archives.
When operating a P3 application in "Backup Recovery Mode" the user only has access to the data in the files extracted from the ZIP backup file and located in the same directory/folder as the application .jar file. Communications with P3Software server(s) is not allowed to ensure the separation of the back up and primary data files. If the user attempts to use communications functions, a dialog will be displayed indicating that the operation is not allowed. "Backup Recovery Mode" is solely intended to provide access to your data in the event your service with P3Software is, for some reason, no longer available.